Windy Ways

Making my own postcards is great; they’re very personal, and great exercise for my creative muscle. Here are two more I’ve done:

Here is a work in progress scan, in case you’re at all curious about the process.
“Shep could feel it in the air: this was a perfect morning for setting wishes free. He climbed through his window to the fire escape, and ascended three floors to the top of the building. From the roof Shep could see a few blocks of city brownstones and apartments. The sun had yet to creep over the skyscraped horizon, but the sky to the east was already blushing with anticipation. As people began to shuffle from their doors to their cars Shep grasped a wish from his mind and let it get swept away on the wind. He had one for every soul that had lost it’s spark.”

Koh-I-Noor ink on textured cardstock.

“Illya knew that the earth loomed below her always; the red, sun-baked soil hot enough to burn bare feet. A cool wind was blowing from the East bearing on it good luck and fanciful daydreams. As Illya swang higher and higher she felt her worries leaving her; they were carried away on the wings of a passing gull. She knew they would eventually find her again, but for the time being she was free and flying high above the parched earth.”

Koh-I-Noor ink on textured cardstock.

{Please pardon anatomical errors, these were not done with any reference material, so they’re bound to have some funky proportions in there.}

Chipmunk Perfection!
I received a wonderful post card from my lovely friend at A&M yesterday:He is absolutely superb!
She felt the same way, and left him unaltered.

I’ve got big plans!
I hope to create enough work to have a small show at a coffee house by the end of this year. I figure 25 – 30 pieces should be enough to display. (Keep in mind most are small. The post cards are 4.5 inches by 6.5 inches.) I figure that if I create 5 to 6 works a week that will leave 2 to 3 for me to save for a show.
I am also planning on buckling down and doing more studies from life in graphite, ink, watercolour, and acrylic. I think doing one quick study (between 5 and 20 minutes) each day will really help me improve.

2 thoughts on “Windy Ways

Leave a Reply

