Recap of Last Night & September Face 15

My evening began with an exhibition opening at Norwood Flynn Gallery where my friend Ray-Mel Cornelius currently has a solo show. The show looked great, there was a good turn out and it was nice catching up with Ray-Mel and Becky.

A RED-TAILED HAWK 10 in. by 8 in. acrylic on panel Norwood Flynn Gallery Dallas, TX
A RED-TAILED HAWK
10 in. by 8 in. acrylic on panel
Painting by Ray-Mel Cornelius
Norwood Flynn Gallery
Dallas, TX
Ray-Mel chatting with a lady gallery-goer.
Ray-Mel chatting with a lady gallery-goer.

After Norwood Flynn I headed over to WAAS and made it in time to see a couple of artists give brief talks about their work, their inspirations, their clockwork inner musings.

Close up of Eva Montealegre's live painting.
Close up of Eva Montealegre‘s live painting.
Painting by Eva Montealegre.

The WAAS show was buzzing with good vibes and great art. Friday evening I was lucky enough to attend a mask-making workshop led by Eva Montealegre; it was great and the mask of my face is going to be part of her exhibition in a museum in California! It was a pleasure to have met she and her husband David Charmichael, who does amazing sculptures!

I left WAAS and headed straight to Liquid Lounge where my fellow’s band was preparing for a pre-show interview with Mayhem Radio Live.

There was a storm trooper at the show!
There was a storm trooper at the show! I’m not much of a Star Wars fan, but how could I not sneak a picture with her?
Prostinaut!
Prostinaut!
My friend Vince takes good pictures.
My friend Vince takes good pictures.
My handsome fellow. :)
My handsome fellow. :)

Luckily for me, I was able to complete my face for the 29 Faces challenge earlier in the day!

Raul Julia
Raul Julia

I chose a picture of Raul Julia looking much like one Mr. Addams; replete with noose resting loosely on his shoulders, dramatic lighting and perfectly sculpted hair.

4 thoughts on “Recap of Last Night & September Face 15

Leave a Reply

