Figures

After many years I finally made it to a figure study session. Needless to say I was quite rusty! I’m grateful to Ray of Drink and Draw for organizing and leading the session, to the model for sitting for us and to Dallas Makerspace for allowing us to use their space.

Persistent Tides
Persistent Tides

Lucky for me; we were able to warm up with some shorter poses. This was great because I needed to loosen up a bit.

Abiding
Abiding

It would also be nice to be able to shade with a little more subtlety; so next time I’ll be bringing larger paper, smaller-tipped pens and pencils.

Weary
Weary

The quiet of a spot-lit room and focus on the task at hand created a delightful mediative experience.

Heavy Thoughts
Heavy Thoughts

Next time I attend I’ll be sure to bring pencils so I can better map out proportions and avoid over-sized heads!

Knees and Fingers
Knees and Fingers

Most of the short poses I did were quite naïve, so I’ve saved those for my sketchbook. I only took a small book and pens to work with so my pages filled up quickly during longer poses and I began focusing on details of the model instead of her whole body.

Era's Thoughts
Era’s Thoughts
Leave a Reply

