A Small Note

Rome, a city draped in saints and flowering jasmine entertained and offered delights to myself and my travel companions (boyfriend, father and an acquaintance) for 7 days. Those 7 days were amazing!

Travel itself is exhausting and it was a full day to and from, with the trip to being much more smooth than the way home.

The streets of Rome are speckled with oranges fallen from trees lining the sidewalks, fig trees sprout like weeds along the retaining walls of the river, lemons grow lush and happy in pots on patios and in gardens and flowering vines overtake buildings! Rome is beautifully lush!

I think my fellow and I consumed 10 pizzas while in Rome, and they were all fantastic! Even the €4 delivery pizzas were fresh-baked in a giant pizza oven and covered with freshly-harvested produce.

Produce stands were a common site and offered boxes overflowing with local fruits and veg. I purchased some strawberries from one a few doors down from our hotel; they were fantastic!

Every Italian we dealt with was abundantly friendly, even those who spoke little to no English. I wish I had studied up on Italian more than I did before the trip – I’ll just have to learn it so next time we visit Italy I’ll be better prepared!

A patchwork city where those currently living weave their lives through the skeleton of a city past.
A patchwork city where those currently living weave their lives through the skeleton of a city past.
Leave a Reply

