30 & Then Some More

Those of you who have follow me, even those as recent as this summer, likely know I have challenged myself to render 1,000 faces before December 31, 2014. I am including my 30 faces for this month as faces in my 1,000 faces challenge, because I’m beginning to sweat the deadline a little bit.

It is my goal to render close to 300 faces this month.

Reddit User furry_lolly 15 minute drawing.
Reddit User furry_lolly
15 minute drawing.
Face 10
Reddit User GuentherAndrew 15 minute drawing. Face 11
Reddit User GuentherAndrew
15 minute drawing.
Face 11
Reddit User hedface 10 minute drawing. Face 12
Reddit User hedface
10 minute drawing.
Face 12
Failed Attempt at Reddit User kreativv's Father 5 minute drawing. Face 13
Failed Attempt at Reddit User kreativv’s Father
5 minute drawing.
Face 13

This man’s portrait was particularly difficult for me to draw. In the photograph posted by Reddit user kreativv, the subject seems forlorn, lost in thought and is clearly in a medical center, wearing a hospital wristband and gown. The photograph, so powerful and striking a capture of the subject’s intensity was powerful to observe, so powerful it felt as though I were caught in a conversation with this man. Looking at the man closely, following the lines in his skin, the shadows across his face, the mood in his eyes, was a difficult task and nearly brought me to tears. He looks so sad, so hopeless, I couldn’t help but remember my loved one’s struggles, both fleeting and terminal.

Drawing him felt like a small ritual in mourning, a sad dream of a lost loved one or friend torn from me by the morning sun, encroaching through shut blinds.

Reddit User kreativv's Father  20 minute drawing.
Reddit User kreativv’s Father
20 minute drawing.
Face 14

14 down, 286 to go.

4 thoughts on “30 & Then Some More

Leave a Reply

