Hello, Chill Breeze

There's a chill in the air.
There’s a chill in the air.
I brought my bonsai plant inside; I'd be fraught with guilt should they catch ill during the brisk night.
I brought my bonsai plant inside; I’d be fraught with guilt should they catch ill during the brisk night.
Polyp investigating.
Polyp investigating.

This morning I jogged barefoot through a light drizzle, the damp cement and fallen leaves a wonderful sensation beneath my feet. I managed to put in almost two miles, which isn’t bad considering how long it’s been since my last barefoot run. My calves are already voicing their painful joy at being exercised so.

Most of my bonsai prefer warmer weather, which means the jade, baobab, tree of a thousand stars, Japanese elm and pomegranate all get to join me indoors. They’re all scraggly and a little unkempt as I am still learning how to properly keep bonsai and I don’t like trimming them in the throes of Texas summers. I’ll wait until spring to prune them; hopefully they’ll not mind.

Leave a Reply

